Kenneth Takeuchi named Carnegie Professor of the Year

Posted on

The night before Kenneth Takeuchi started teaching Chemistry 101 back in 1983, he walked into the empty classroom in Acheson Hall on UB’s South Campus, where he was about to begin his career.

“I wrote something on the board and then I went and sat down in the very last row,” he says. “I realized that if I wanted the students in the back row to see, I would have to make my letters eight inches high. It started me thinking, how can I present this information so that if I were sitting in this chair, it would mean something to me? I had to present the science so as to captivate the students’ imagination.”

This initial insight prompted Takeuchi to begin developing a philosophy about teaching—about transforming the classroom experience into something that would resonate with students.

Read more.

Leave a Reply

